National Work Readiness Credentials

The National Work Readiness Credentials are the only nationally recognized career readiness credentials 

validating mastery of the foundational academic skills, soft skills, and digital skills most in-demand by employers today.

Providing job skills credentials that are recognized by employers across all fifty states benefits both employers and job seekers in several ways. For employers, it ensures that their workforce possesses the skills and knowledge required for the job, which leads to increased efficiency, retention, and productivity. It also provides a standard to measure the qualifications of potential employees, making the hiring process more streamlined. For job seekers, credentials act as a proof of their competencies and make them stand out from other candidates. It also provides them with a sense of achievement and confidence that they have the necessary skills to perform the job. Ultimately, providing nationally recognized credentials for job skills training benefits all parties by creating a more efficient and effective job market. The National Work Readiness Council has endorsed the following credentials:

Academic Skills

The Academic Skills Credential is based on three proctored career readiness assessments validating mastery of the foundational employability skills (math, reading, and data analysis) commonly required for most jobs according to the U.S. Department of Labor O*NET Job Zone Framework.

Soft Skills

The Soft Skills Credential measures entry-level work tasks and behaviors, including communicating effectively; conveying professionalism; promoting teamwork and collaboration; and thinking critically and solving problems. The assessment items require the learner to choose two answers for each question, the “best” and “worst” answers for handling each situation.

Digital Skills

The Digital Skills Credential measures a learner’s basic digital skills as needed to navigate technology in the workplace. The assessment evaluates skills across five areas: Computer Operations, Internet Browsing, Digital Communication, Digital Documents, and Digital Security.
Image of the NWRC Academic Skills Credential
Image of the NWRC Soft Skills Credential
Image of the NWRC Digital Skills Credential
Image of the NWRC Academic Skills and Soft Skills Credential
Image of the NWRC Soft Skills and Digital Skills Credential

Credential Achievement Levels and O*NET Job Zones

There are five Job Zones in the O*NET Content Model Framework. Each Job Zone represents a group of occupations based on the education, training, and experience required, with Job Zone 1 occupations requiring the least amount of education and experience, and Job Zone 5 occupations requiring the most.

The four credential Achievement Levels (2, 3, 4, and 5) were designed based on the O*NET Job Zones. Each Achievement Level correlates to an O*NET Job Zone. Earning an Achievement Level 2 credential indicates that a learner has the foundational skills needed to pursue career pathways in Job Zone 2. Earning a higher Achievement Level indicates a learner's readiness to pursue career pathways in higher level Job Zones, providing them access to a greater percentage of occupational possibilities.

All credentials are issued and endorsed by the National Work Readiness Council in partnership with WIN Learning, a national career readiness solutions company and publisher of online foundational work ready curriculum and assessments.